Jogging Journey: Part 1

 I’ve been trying to jump on the workout bandwagon, but I’m pretty bad at it. I commit to walking/jogging and keep it up for a couple of weeks, and then the weather gets in the way or honestly anything just gets in the way. I end up having to start all over again. I don’t have the attention span to go to the gym and jump on an exercise machine. Last time I checked, I wasn’t a hamster. Though the group classes aren’t too bad.

I opted for a different option and started just walking/jogging around the block or at the park. This has been going a little better. I gave myself a goal, and hopefully I can meet it. I’m trying to train to be able to run an entire 5k without walking. I know that might not sound like a lot for some but it’s my own little personal goal right now.

A few people have asked me what my posts on Facebook about my runs are all about. Well, I run in Nike sneakers because they’re comfortable and because they have the Nike+ application. This application tracks how far you jog and your calories. This helps me feel like I’m actually doing something. I’ve also been using a polar heart monitor/watch to give me a better count on how many calories are burned each time.

Finally, there’s a great app for those of you on an iPhone called Couch to 5K. This app trains you and every week it changes. It starts off slowly with 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking and slowly increases until you can jog the entire 5k. It’s amazing to see how much your body adapts to it and each week the jogs get a bit easier. I’m halfway through week 4. (Though in reality, if I hadn’t stopped so many times I would’ve been done with the 9 week training program by now.) But I guess mentally preparing yourself and committing to it is half the battle.

How to do you motivate yourself to workout?

One response to “Jogging Journey: Part 1

What do you think?

