Beauty Bust: The Royal Treatment

I’ve been on a recessionista mode lately, you know, since we’re in a recession and all. Some of my regular habits have had to get a makeover. My most recent makeover was in my skin care routine. I had been using Laura Mercier skin care products along with their makeup – which I love. Recently, I figured that I had to be more of a recessionista and find a more budget friendly alternative for my skin care routine. Laura Mercier products, though wonderful, could get a bit pricey. Though I haven’t abandoned using their makeup products just yet, I’m quite hooked on those.

After asking for recommendations and reading some reviews online, I decided to give the British brand Boots a try. Boots is a hypoallergenic brand, which is great for my extremely sensitive skin. It also uses many plant ingredients from the Royal Botanical Gardens in Kew, London in making many of its products. Boots is sold in the U.S. through Target retail stores and Ulta has also started carrying some of the Boots brands.

The Boots brand consists of a few different brands including: Boots Botanics, Botanics Organics, No 7 and Boots Expert. I searched until I found the best mix for my skin care routine and I can tell you I am absolutely thrilled with the results. The moisturizers don’t feel think and gooey after you apply them; the serums are smooth and leave your skin feeling as soft as a baby’s bottom; the under eye serum is also lightweight; the face wash and toner don’t leave a trace of dirt or makeup on your face when you’re done. It’s proven to be a great product, which doesn’t break the bank.

One of the serums I purchased, Boots No 7 Protect and Perfect Beauty Serum was even featured in a recent episode of The Doctors and was recommended by a dermatologist on the show. You can catch the segment here if you’re interested. You know, if The Doctors said it, it has to be good! A family member of mine has also been using this serum and she is also in love with the product and results.

If you’re interested in what I’ve purchased in the past few weeks, here’s my list. I didn’t go crazy all at once, but accumulated a little at a time to keep with the recessionista theme on track. Though, all these products still did not sum up to what my Laura Mercier skin care regime was summing up to be.

Right now I’m using:

Botanics Moisturizing Deep Clean Foam Face Wash

Organic Face Rosewater Toner

No 7 Protect & Perfect Beauty Serum

Face Renewal Cream SPF 15

Radiance Renewal Night Serum

Nourishing Night Cream

No 7 Protect & Perfect Eye Cream

No 7 Protect & Perfect Lipcare

The Protect & Perfect Lipcare is a wonderful thick, lustrous lip balm. It feels like a great conditioner for your lips during the hot summer weather and sunburns (which living in Miami makes this very handy). It would also seem to be very hydrating to use for those living in extreme cold weather and snow. Any of you who have an addiction to lip balm, like I do, will love this. I have also been using  Botanics Conditioning Clay Mask for about the past year and I also think it’s great. It’s like having a mini-facial in the privacy of your own home.

Here are some fun facts from the Boots web-site. Boots was granted a Royal Warrant in 1942. Royal Warrants are a mark of recognition given to companies who’ve regularly supplied products to the Royal Household. Can you imagine you can be using the same products the Royal Family uses? You can find the Royal Warrant mark on the products which are supplied to the Royal Household.

If you were living in the UK, you would be able to find a No 7 product in the makeup bags of 1 of every 3 women. No 7 is also the number 1 cosmetics and skin care brand in the UK. Seems like a pretty big deal for something we can purchase at our local Target store.

Taking care of your skin and keeping it healthy and looking fresh is something most women know something about already. Though not many know it’s not something you should wait until you’re in your 40s or 50s before taking precaution. You also shouldn’t wait to start getting wrinkles before you start to worry about it. Skin care is something everyone should do from an early age. It’s recommended that women start as early as their 20s to prevent wrinkles, keep skin looking healthy, glowing and of course, protect yourself from the sun’s harmful damages.

What’s your skin care regime like? Feel free to share any great ideas/products. Have you used Boots before? What do you think and which is your favorite product from the line? I’m open for more recommendations.

3 responses to “Beauty Bust: The Royal Treatment

  1. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed now.

    • Thank you! And thank you for subscribing! 🙂 I’m glad you are enjoying the posts. Feel free to
      Comment away. I always enjoy reading what others think of my posts.

What do you think?

