Argentinian Flair, Local Eatery

I’ve recently discovered another delicious local neighborhood restaurant. Puerto Madero is the most delicious Argentinian restaurant I’ve been to yet. It’s small, it’s cozy, it’s in the neighborhood. It’s the perfect place for a nice meal where you don’t have to worry about dressing to the nines and driving to Downtown or the beach.

The menu is filled with a broad selection from delicious sandwiches for lunch (you MUST try the prosciutto, tomato and fresh mozzarella sandwich), to pastas, salads, and of course some great choices from the grill. One of my favorite things at Puerto Madero are their absolutely amazing empanadas (they’re hispanic pastries filled with your choice of ham & cheese, meat, chicken, spinach, or plain cheese). The variety of empanadas that this place carries is unreal. Have you ever heard of a cheese & mushroom empanada? I haven’t, but I can vouch for their ham & cheese one and their mozzarella, tomato & basil empanada. They’re choices you don’t often see but definitely worth a try. The empanadas are also baked and not fried, which if you’re watching what you eat, I guess this helps the calories a little bit. You can view their complete menu here. I’ve gone for lunch a couple of times this summer and once for dinner and haven’t been disappointed yet.

{This is the sandwich I mentioned above. Looks delicious, right?}

{This is one of their yummy empanadas.}

Now, their dessert collection is something worth trying out. I have relatives that pass by and pick up boxes of a variety of desserts to take with them to dinner parties. I have others that stop by there to get some yummy desserts to take back home with them. The desserts are seriously to die for. If you like dulce de leche (hispanic version of caramel-like filling) you’re in for a treat because just about every dessert has dulce de leche. They also have some fruit options, mousse selections and of course some cake choices as well.

{Here are the dessert selections. Don’t they make your mouth water?}

Their cafe con leche (hispanic coffee with milk) is also better than any I’ve ever had before. I don’t know if all Argentinian meals are this delicious but so far I’ve liked just about everything I’ve tried at Puerto Madero. It’s located in a small, local strip mall, making it possible that not many people have seen it or heard of it.

{This is the famous cafe con leche I just mentioned.}

The atmosphere at Puerto Madero is casual and cozy. Often you can see many Argentinian patrons dining there. If the Argentinians approve of the Argentinian restaurant, it must be good. The prices are also very reasonable and won’t make a huge dent in your wallet for a nice meal.

While dining at Puerto Madero, I’ve also noticed how good-looking Argentinian men are! WOW! I’ve met a few attractive ones before, but after dining at Puerto Madero a few times, I can say that this country has many handsome guys. Let’s not forget their gorgeous accent! Now, to find myself one… a plus if he can cook all these great meals.

Have you dined at Puerto Madero? What are your thoughts? Any other local Argentinian restaurants you can recommend?

4 responses to “Argentinian Flair, Local Eatery

  1. Vero, yes, I’m obsessed. Everything is so good!
    Alexandrea.. Graziano’s is amazing too! I love their pizza! But they closed the one they had on bird rd. 😦

  2. Yum! I’ve never been, but after reading this I must make an effort to go. It looks delicious! Another great Argentinian restaurant is Grazianos in the Gables. They have the sit down restaurant, as well as a more casual restaurant. I’ve always been to the more casual one and their food is very good! 🙂

  3. I love this place. It’s across the street from my aunt’s house so we eat there regularly. It is hidden in a small strip mall next to Ashley Furniture and in between 2 other food spots. I have yet to have a bad meal there. You can have anything from a pastry for a snack, a sandwich for lunch, or a full plate (delicious steak and all) for dinner. Their torta de espinaca is to die for! Great review!

What do you think?

