Puppy Love: Welcome Home Gifts

For many brining a new puppy home is a big, fun and exciting step. Although, many see the cute four-legged friends as just a pet, others see it as a new member of the family. Just over two years ago I brought my Princess Bella, a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel home. She came to me from Missouri and every day she’s been part of our home has been filled with doggie kisses, laughs, fun, and cuddly snuggles. I wouldn’t have traded another day without her for all the love she’s brought to our family since her arrival.

One thing I didn’t expect when I brought Princess Bella home though were all the gifts my family and friends brought over. Each person that came to meet her brought a gift in hand. It was like welcoming a small furry child. We received squeaky toys, blankets to keep her warm while she was a tiny 3 pound pup, we received cute little outfits (yes, I’m one of those people) and even extra collars and leashes. I was so surprised by all the love and welcoming Princess received I promised to help welcome other puppies that came into the lives of my friends and families.

{Princess a couple of days after joining us, napping with her toys around her.}

While shopping for Princess one day, I couldn’t seem to find any cute bandanas for her that were girly yet not too standard, so I set out to make my own. I hit the craft store and bought some fabric, bows, decals, stitching glue, strings, and buttons to attach to the bandanas. Princess Bella now has a box filled with cute, personalized and one-of-a-kind bandanas to sport of every occasion and every holiday. This has become my signature gift since then.

When a friend of mine brought home her new puppy just a few weeks ago, I knew Riley needed to be sent some puppy love as well. I made her some bandanas and sent the package via mail over to surprise her Mommy with some “welcome puppy home” gifts.

Here are some pics of the bandanas:

What do you think of puppy welcome home gifts? Do you have any DIY projects you do for your dogs? Was your pup showered with love when you brought them home?

What do you think?

