Beauty Bust: Flawless Face

After being asked about my makeup quite a few times by friends, I decided to write a blog dedicated to the products I use in my daily routine. I’ve been complimented by random strangers on my makeup and have been asked by those I know to let them know exactly what products I’ve been using, so here’s my input on my favorite makeup brand so far. As a self-proclaimed makeup junkie, I can testify that I’ve used many, many products and have never been happier with a complete line, like I am with Laura Mercier. Although some of the products are pricey, they’re worth the splurge. Read below to get some tips on how to try some of my favorites out without spending a fortune until you’ve decided if this line is for you.

I started using Laura Mercier products a little over a year ago. I began using them because I was using NARS products, but every time I walked in to Sephora to purchase some more powder or foundation, they seemed to never have my colors in stock. So in a moment of frustration I decided to give another line a try. I was then looking for a foundation that wasn’t too heavy, would be comfortable enough to wear daily for work and in the summer heat. The tinted moisturizer from Laura Mercier looked like a good fit and I liked that it had some coverage. I don’t like tinted moisturizers that are so sheer they provide zero coverage.

When I kept searching I noticed that Laura Mercier offers a kit through Sephora that’s called the Flawless Face Kit, which brings a few of their key items in travel sizes. This was a perfect way to give the line a try and purchase multiple products without breaking the bank. I purchased the kit and fell in love.

 Flawless Face Kit pictured includes the face primer, tinted moisturizer, the undercover put (which brings loose powder, secret concealer and secret camouflage), a secret camouflage brush, powder brush, sponge and powder puff. You also get the little makeup kit to keep it all stored in. This left my face as flawless and perfect as I imagined. It covers every spot and leaves your skin smooth and it also doesn’t feel heavy like you have a paste of makeup on. The kit really is a great deal because most of the products range from $30 to $50 and with the kit you get to try out a few products that work well together for $65. I now swear by the Secret Concealer, it’s the absolute best for under-eye circles. I’ve used many others before and nothing has ever covered any inch of dark circles like this has.

After using this little kit I was hooked. Little by little I began purchasing different products from the line. My next purchase was the Shimmer Mosaic Block in Peach Mosaic. This Shimmer block was recommended to me by a friend. I have never used bronzer or any type of shimmer so I was a bit hesitant, but I’ve been hooked since day one. This looks great alone as a blush during the day for a light shimmer of color, just sweep a blush brush around to get a little of all four colors. At night, I put some blush, Second Skin cheek Color in Lush Nectarine, underneath and brush the shimmer over it. This Shimmer Block also works well as an eyeshadow. During the day when I don’t want to wear too much makeup, I swirl my blush brush around and sweep it on my eyelids. It gives me a perfect concoction that looks like I spent hours getting precise colors to work together. Add some mascara and maybe some eyeliner and you’re set to go.

If you care to venture out and try some of the eye products, I suggest purchasing this kit as well. It gives  you more bang for your buck and you can figure out what works for you and what doesn’t. Laura’s Secrets Flawless Brightened Eyes Volume 2, brings: Secret Concealer, brightening powder, eye basics in wheat and eye bright, secret brightener, a double ended application brush and another cute makeup bag. I liked most of these products, though I didn’t really find a purpose for the secret brightener. I like the brightening powder, which I use when going out at night to liven up my eyes a bit. I use it before putting on any eyeshadow. It makes your eyes look awake. The Eye Basics work well to set your eyeshadow and make it last. It also gives you some color if you don’t want too much makeup. They work well alone or blended together. The kit comes with instructions from a Laura Mercier makeup artist on how to use the products and make them work together. They are very easy to follow directions. For $75 this kit is a good purchase to use a few of their eye makeup products without spending the retail value of over $150. Again, another great way to try the products and figure out what works for you or not.

I also use the Pressed Powder Foundation as my every day powder when I don’t want to use the tinted moisturizer. Whenever I’m going out I use this over the tinted moisturizer because I feel I need a bit more coverage than a loose powder provides. However, that may be just me because I’m not really a fan of loose powder at all.

If purchasing on-line, Sephora is always giving other products with your purchase depending how many store points you’ve earned. You can also purchase through the Laura Mercier site and get to pick sample sizes of some of their other products when you check out. This is a great way to have some of your favorites in travel friendly sizes.

What’s your favorite makeup brand? Are you a makeup junkie? What’s your go-to regime? If you’re a Laura Mercier user, share your thoughts below.

I’ll be writing about other Laura Mercier products I use in the near future. However, the products above are my daily go-to regime. For a night out of course, a girl has to add some special touches! Stay tuned for those.

2 responses to “Beauty Bust: Flawless Face

  1. Yes, the secret concealer I’ve used on spots on my face and it’s worked. BUT they sell Secret Camouflage, which brings both, the concealar for your face and the under eye one. Here’s the link: http://www.lauramercier.com/store/shop/prod220004_prod220004_prod220004?currentSkuId=sku120002 For $6 it’s kinda worth it to just have both. But if you only want the concealer, this is the link: http://www.lauramercier.com/store/shop/Concealers_Secret-Concealer_prod220006

    I’ve gotten one of my friends addicted to this concealar too. You can put it on as think or as light as you want and it’s a creamy type. I find it works better when I put it on with my fingers, but if you get the kit, it brings a brush for it.

    Let me know if you end up trying it out and if you like it!

  2. I’ve been wanting to try a new concealer and I think you have me convinced to try out the Secret Camouflage/Secret concealer! Does it work well for covering spots/pimples, aside from under-eye circles??

What do you think?

