Let’s Talk Relationships – There’s Something to Celebrate this Week

Many you voted on my poll earlier this week that you’d like to read more about relationships. I’ll try to sprinkle some in, but not being in a relationship might make this a little more challenging to add my personal touches to. However, when I opened my email this week, I had an e-mail from one of the magazines I subscribe to. In their weekly newsletter, Tango, which is all about relationships informed us that it’s a very special week. Guess what that ist? It’s National Singles Week! Horraay! Guess singles have an excuse to go out and celebrate all week long. Anyhow, the official name is, ”Unmarried and Single Americans Week”. So I guess if you’re, single, go out and celebrate your bad self. 

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, “National Singles Week” was started by the Buckeye Singles Council in Ohio in the 1980s to celebrate single life and recognize singles and their contributions to society. The week is now widely observed during the third full week of September (Sept. 18-24 in 2011) as “Unmarried and Single Americans Week.”

Did you know that there are approximately 99 million unmarried Americans over 18, which makes up about 44 percent of the adult population? 61 percent of them have never been married. That gives you about a 50 percent chance to meet an eligible bachelor. However, I don’t seem to be running into these “bachelors” anywhere! Right now there are nearly 100 million single and unmarried people. There are also 88 unmarried men 18 and older for every 100 unmarried women in the United States. Now, I don’t know 100 single lades, but these 88 men (or my percentage of that) don’t seem to be roaming around the streets of Miami very often. In any case, that means there are about 100 women fighting for 88 men. 88 of which probably half of that are not great catches – some might have a prison record (hence their single status), or no education, or don’t have a job, or have some kind of crazy personality. You ladies know where I’m coming from, right? Just because statistics say that there are 88 single available men for ever 100 women, many of those wouldn’t make it past our list of expectations – or basically just a list of wanting a normal, stable, reliable guy with possibly some type of an interesting personality. In any case, there are still basically fewer men out there for all the single ladies. So out of those 100 available women, twelve of them are basically screwed.

Now, here’s where I come in. Let me give you a little bit of the demographics in my personal world. My close circle of girlfriends includes about 11 wonderful women ranging in ages from 24 – 32. Out of those 11 women, 4 are currently pregnant, nine are married and one is living with her boyfriend. Which basically leaves me and my newly singleness to – well, either be the 12th wheel or die of boredom. Between these 11 women, there are 8 children, not counting the 4 on the way. Do the math – just about every single one of them either has a kid or is expecting a little off-spring of their own. So basically, in my world, there are no single people. Everyone’s hitched living happily ever after.

Being newly single . . . well, maybe it’s not that new anymore it’s been about 7 months that I’ve been free from a 3-year relationship. When you’re new to the dating world, first you want to hide out. But after you get past that initial, “I’m no longer in a relationship, what do I do?” phase, you want to go out and have fun with your friends. The thing is though, that although my friends try and do invite me out or include me in their plans. Going out with 11 husbands in tow or having to make it home to relieve your babysitter, doesn’t exactly scream out “wild night out” to me.

Here’s the catch. Where are all the single people hiding? I was in a relationship for so long, I don’t know where the “in” places for singles to go out for a drink are anymore. When I do go out, it’s to dinner with the couples clan, or a quick drink – again with the couple clan. I feel a little out of place, around people who feel like home to me. It’s an odd feeling. So if the statistics show there are so many singles, someone please tell me where they’re hiding! My birthday is coming up at the end of the month and I’m trying to figure out where to celebrate. So if you do know of a good, fun place, where singles might roam, let me know. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not on a hunt to pick up, I just don’t want to be around a couple’s world on a night that’s supposed to be for me. Can you blame me? As fun and crazy as this location could be, it has to be preggo-friendly, as some of my favorite people are in fact expecting and I’d love to spend the time celebrating with them as well.

I love all of their children – and husbands too. But in a single’s world – married life, babies, toddlers and household chores talk just don’t really mix. If any of you reading this are also in the “Single’s World”, I’d love to hear from you! Where do you go out? Do you agree with the statistics? Do you think that many people in the population are currently unpaired? How do you balance between being single and wanting to be apart of the lives of those you care for who are: planning weddings, babies, showers, kiddie birthday parties? You don’t want to know how many child-friendly events I’ve gone to this year. Or how many baby showers I’ve had in the past 6 months. (Here’s a hint, basically one every week or so.) That’s not to say I don’t enjoy them, because I love being a part of every milestone in my friend’s lives that are important to them. I just need to find a Single’s World I can belong to as well.  Now someone please pass me a martini, let’s sit and talk about some dating horror stories. Now, isn’t that what a single’s girl’s life is supposed to consist of?

Happy Single’s Week to all of you out there being Single and loving it!

One response to “Let’s Talk Relationships – There’s Something to Celebrate this Week

  1. Pingback: Out With The Old In With The New: Good Riddance 2011! | Bella Vida·

What do you think?

