Country Music’s Night of Royalty, Fashion & Fun

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted, but life has seemed to get in the way in a good way. In the past month, my family has had many little celebrations and additions to revel in. We’ve had a couple of new engagements, so that just means more wedding posts will be coming soon again. We’ve also had a couple of new little baby angels join our family so I now have a new niece and new god-daughter! I’m beyond in love and occupied visiting these two little angels, that it hasn’t left me with much time (or concentration) to post.

Now that we’re speaking about celebrations, last night on November 10th the 45th Country Music Awards (CMAs) were held in Nashville. For me (and my dad) the night of the CMAs gets more attention in my house than the Thanksgiving or even Christmas Day parades. We gather around the TV, blast the volume to get optimal sound for the performances and complete silence so we can take in every single second of the show.

Apart from the star-studded event, and top-notch performances, being a country fan, and lover of all things pretty, I must write about the gorgeous gowns these Country Leading Ladies strutted through the night. Here are a few of my favorites, enjoy!

Carrie Underwood opened up the show in this show-stopping short mini dress. She seemed to even be wearing little black shorts underneath since it was so high up. For more on Carrie’s gorgeous gowns, look at the photos below. I truly love her class, elegance and style. I’ve been following her career since she won American Idol a few years back and I think we can all agree, she’s made her mark as one of Country Music’s Royal ladies!

Leanne Rhimes sports this simple, yet elegant gown with amazing detail on the back.

Newlywed, Miranda Lambert, showed her girly side in this sparkly black ensemble.

Miranda later wore this short, sparkly number when she received her award for Female Vocalist of the Year.Taylor Swift, one of the youngest powerful ladies in country music, wore this gown, which reminded me a little of a bridal gown. This dress had amazing detail in its long tail and feathery side detail. I also loved the greyish/ivory color. She certainly didn’t look like a teenager anymore! She swept the night when she took home with her Entertainer of the Year for the second time. She was nominated among Country Music’s top male vocalists, being the only woman on the list of greats.

Jennifer Nettles also let her girly side out in this simple, yet elegant light grey dress. A more put together look from her usual onstage attire.

The ladies of Little Big Town kept it simple, elegant and sleek.

Ginnifer Goodwin’s gown was more fun than elegant, but was different enough to catch my attention.

Now as the 45th CMAs co-host, Carrie Underwood kept us waiting to see what she would pull off next with each commercial break. She has about 9 costume changes, and most I have to say were gorgeous. She can certainly pull off most looks from girly, to glam, to simply, classy and even daring, she surely looked the princess part all night.

Now I can’t talk about Country Music leading ladies, without mentioning my love for the handsome men in cowboy hats, then again, I am a sucker for a good, ol, fashioned, tough cowboy guy. Here are a couple of my favorite Country Men.

Kenny Chesney always makes his signature Cowboy hat look sexy!

Blake’s silly demeanor, sexy eyes and little smirk always melt my heart.

Tim McGraw seems sort of quiet and sweet to me, but he also does a Cowboy hat some good.

One of my long time favorites falls under the radar at times, but my heart jumps whenever Dirks Bentley goes on the radio or stage.

As we can see from the pictures above, Brad Paisley doesn’t need nine wardrobe changes to call your attention. He also does the Cowboy hat some good and is one of my all-time favorite performers. His job as co-host was again superb.

And finally, Country Music has some of its favorite couples and here are some of the darling dous…

Blake Shelton & Miranda Lambert sure proved they are Country Music Royalty when they took home the Female Vocalist of the Year and the Male Vocalist of the Year awards. I’m sure they had a great night full of celebration!

And who can leave out Tim McGraw and Faith Hill from Country Music’s most loved duo!

Let’s not forget Keith Urban and Nicole Kidman.Here are some of the night’s big winners:

Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert

Male Vocalist of the Year: Blake Shelton

New Artist of the Year: The Band Perry

Vocal Group of the Year: Lady Antebellum

Vocal Duo of the Year: Sugarland

Song of the Year: “If I Die Young” by The Band Perry

 

Did you want the CMAs? What’s your favorite dress from the night? Favorite artist? Do you think all the awards were well received or was there someone else you would’ve liked to see recognized?

What do you think?

