Valentine’s Day: My Personal Take

Happy Valentine’s Day to all! It’s the day of love and my Facebook newsfeed has been filled with pictures of flowers ALL day. Well, I’ve had some more enjoyable ones of cute babies too. Personally, I prefer the pictures of cute babies! Those really yell out HAPPY DAY! As for all the pictures of flowers, not to sound like a Valentine Day cynic, but showing someone you love should be more about the daily acts of kindness and affection than a grand gesture on an assigned day! I would personally rather receive flowers on an unexpected day, than a day that the rest of the world and the rest of the office is receiving flowers. What’s special about that? Now if you get flowers on an unassigned day, by all means – post away! That truly says love! (That’s unless the flowers are because your loved one is apologizing).

Valentine’s Day should just be a day about reminding someone you care about them in a simple, yet romantic way. It’s not a day to squeeze all the attention you didn’t give the other 364 days of the year.

To me, Valentine’s Day isn’t just about romantic love. It’s also about your friendships and family members. You know, those people who actually do love you every single day. The people who wipe your tears, make you laugh and put up with you when your PMS is at an ultimate high. Don’t forget those people who hold you up throughout the year as well. Remind them how special they are to you and how much you care for them as well.

The highlight of my Valentine last year was when my best friend called me to tell me I was going to be the Godmother of her baby! Meaning – she was pregnant! That was truly the ultimate sign of love. When someone can trust a part of their child’s upbringing to you. Those are the things that make an ordinary day special. The downfall, or maybe it was a highlight of my Valentine last year, was when I decided I was in a relationship that was way too wrong for me and called it quits. Since then, I’ve had a year of no stress, freedom, and no anxiety. For those of you who might be celebrating a day with someone you’re just used to. Take a moment to think back today. Think about the year you’ve had and the moments you’ve had. Instead of falling into the hoopla of the day, take a moment to think if you’re ultimately happy or just trying to fit into what society’s mold for you should be. It was a hard decision for me to make last year, especially on a day that’ supposed to be all about love, but it was probably one of the best decisions I made. That’s not to say that every now and then there aren’t things I miss. But I trust that my future is better off still revealing itself, than on a course that was headed to a dead-end.

On that note, appreciate those who you love, those who love you. Whether it’s a significant other, a friend, a relative, or your fling for the night! Enjoy it and appreciate the happy moments today.

What are your plans for Valentine? How did your celebrate the day of Love if your single? Any ending to relationships on the day designated for love? Share your Valentine thoughts below. Do you think this day is meaning for or a marketing scheme?


What do you think?

