Beauty Bust: Urge to Purge

I am a self-proclaimed makeup junkie as those of you who have been reading are already aware. Sometimes my makeup is found everywhere from my makeup caboodle (where it belongs), to my makeup bag in my purse (where only my daily victims should be found), to the bathroom drawer, on top of my desk, on a shelf in my closet, and I even find tubes of lipgloss that have been lost and forgotten in the depths of purses I haven’t used in months. I admit it, sometimes it’s a little much. Every now and then I get the urge to purge and end up throwing out things I haven’t used in a while or colors I bought as an experiment, which proved to be an experiment gone wrong. But then there are always those eye shadows that we love, the colors look great on us, but they seem to never run out. Are they safe to still use? My daily users such as: powder, foundation or tinted moisturizer, blush, bronzer, mascara, and my favorite lip balm or lip gloss never last long enough for me to wonder if they’ve gone bad or not. Then there are those gorgeous, rare colors we purchase for a special occasion that we hate to throw out but don’t use often enough. If you’re storing them for months or years, it’s probably time to do some spring cleaning.

Since spring is right around the corner, it’s time to spring clean your makeup caboodle, bag, drawer or wherever you have it stored.

Here are some guidelines, thanks to Redbook magazine, for you on how long you should keep most of your beauty products:

Mascara: has the shortest shelf life. Replace it every 3 months. This is because the wand takes bacteria back into the tube every time it’s used.

Creams based products such as shadows, blushes, concealers, foundations, and glosses:   Replace every 6 months. The water contained in these products makes them attract germs.

Powders and unopened makeup: Replace every 2 years. The moisture in powder and sealed products is low, giving it a longer shelf life.

Lipstick: Replace every year. However, if the texture begins to change, harden or dry out replace immediately.

 

Does this list alarm you? Are you using products that are probably no longer hygienic for you to use? Will you be getting the urge to purge? How often do you clean out your beauty products? Have you ever even taken time to think about this or are you still using that color that was all the rave back in the late ’90s? Share below!

What do you think?

